Tallaght AC Awards night


Tallaght athletics club recently held their annual awards last week. Overall there were eight awards given out on the night. Joseph Ojewumi a 3rd year elite athletics scholarship DCU student 
picked up male athlete of the year. Joseph has had a stellar 2016 and was selected for the Irish senior relay squad for the European Championships. He is the current Dublin, Leinster and national U20 100 metre champion and also lowered the club 100 metre record to 10.75 seconds. Laura McDonnell picked up female athlete of the year. She currently holds club records for 5k, 4 miles, 5 miles, 10K and this year added the half marathon record to her resume. Laura won the Leinster 10 mile championships and helped her team to gold also. Laura had a very impressive 5th place finish in the national half marathon championships and along with again helped her team secure the national bronze medals. 
Billy Loughman picked up improved male athlete of the year. Billy completed the 2015 Dublin marathon in 3hrs 19 minutes and with diligent training smashed the 3-hour barrier in this year’s event
Billy also picked up new personal bests over 5K, 5 miles, 10K, 10 miles and the half marathon. Clare Price O’Brien won improved female athlete. Clare secured personal bests in almost all of her races this year and represented the club with distinction in Track and field, cross country and road races. Her recent marathon performance saw her chop 40 minutes off last year’s time. Liam Cullen won male master athlete. Liam is an experienced marathon runner and has ran sub 3 hours on numerous occasions, however Liam’s big goal this year was to run a new marathon personal best in the Dublin marathon. On the day Liam ran the race of his life and ran an incredibly impressive 2 hours 55 minutes. Liam also picked up Dublin championships medals over the marathon distance. Jacqui Boyle won female master athlete of the year. Jacqui has had a fantastic 2016. She may be a master but she was part of the women’s senior team that picked up Leinster 10-mile gold and most impressively national half marathon bronze as well as individual bronze in her age category. Jacqui also ran a fine national marathon this year and picked up an individual silver in the Dublin championships. Linda Clarke was a very popular winner of the Tallaght AC club person of the year. Linda is an excellent servant to the club and is always available to help out at events the club organize and also looking after the day to day running of the club house. The final award on the night went to the women’s captain Sarah Jane Kinsella. Sarah Jane finished first in the championship racer competition an internal competition open to all members that recognizes consistent performances over a range of distances from track to cross country to road.