Fitzpatrick and Mc Donnell Win Tallaght 5k Titles


Tallaght athletes Tomas Fitzpatrick and Laura Mc Donnell were the first male and female athletes to cross the finish line of the Tallaght A.C. Annual 5K Road Race on Sunday last.

Tomas lead from start to finish before crossing the line in 15.37 with Dylan Keegan (Templeogue A.C.) finishing second with a time of 15.53 ahead of Mark Molly ( Dundrum South Dublin) in 15.55.

Laura Mc Donnell was always in control in the female category throughout the race before crossing the line in 18.15 with a comfortable thirty second margin over Claire Sullivan (18.45) and Iiona Mc Elroy who took third place in 18.54.

The Junior titles also stayed within the club after Dean Conway and Abi Brenna crossed the line in first place.

Paul Fleming (Rathfarnham/WSAF) took top prize in the O/40 category with Derek Taylor in second and Ian O’ Reilly in third while Barbara Murray (19.29) took the ladies section ahead of Susanne Ryan (20.01) and Sinead Tighe (20.20).

Ray Cunningham was the first in the O/45 category to finish with a time of 18.10 with Michael Coin (18.27) taking second ahead of Jim Quinn (18.31) and Donna Mahon (19.34) was followed home by Sharon Tighe (20.28) and Ciara Darke (21.36) in the women’s section.

In the O/50 category John Keogh recorded 18.46 to take top prize with Gabriel Byrne finishing second in 19.03 and in the women’s section Grainne Butler won in 20.09 with Carol Dempsey taking second in 22.03.

The O/55 categories were won by Niall Coppinger (17.54) and Sue Vincent (27.06) while Dessie Shoten (20.07) and Angela Egan (28.22) took top prizes in the O/60 category before Jim Dwyer (23.02) and Eileen O’ Brien (24.38) won out in the O/65 category. Terry Mee and Ann Woodlock took the O/70 prizes.

In the team categories the three Tallaght Fitz’s, Tomas Fitzpatrick, Dave Fitzpatrick and Peter Fitzsimons combined to take top prize in the Senior category while Claire Sulliivan led Donna Mahon and Lorraine Nolan to claim the Senior team title for Rathfarnham/WSAF.

In the Masters category Liam Cullen, Billy Loughman and Niall Coppinger combined well to claim the top prize for Tallaght and Sinead Tighe, Lisa Nagle and Ailish Hudson did likewise in the women’s section for Brothers Pearse.

The race which incorporated the Dublin Novice Road Race Championships saw Tallaght taking Bronze in both ladies and men’s team categories with Tara Woods, Suzanne Carter, Gwen Baker and Maria Kavanagh combing well for the women with Paddy Lyons leading home Padraic Griffin, Liam Cullen and Billy Loughman