Tallaght Win Out in Battle of Clontarf


Tallaght athletes took a number of top honours for the second year in succession at the recent Battle of Clontarf 10 mile annual race which was held in St Annes Park Raheny recently

The race which was again combined with the Leinster 10 Mile Road Race Championships saw Laura Mc Donnell secure back to back Leinster title wins and top prize again in the Battle of Clontarf 10 mile with a time of 1.02.09 which was almost a minute faster than her 2016 win.


David Fitzpatrick won Leinster Silver in the 0/35 category with a time of 56.11 as did Dermot Delaney in the O/45 category when he crossed the line in 62.15 whilst Brendan Ryan won Bronze in the O/55 with a time of 65.03.

In the team categories, Tallaght men went one place better than 2016 after David Fitzpatrick combined with Luke Coleman and Liam Cullen to secure the Senior title with a four point margin over the host club Raheny Shamrocks while the O/50 team led by Gerry Dore who teamed up with Dave Meehan and Brendan Ryan did likewise with a comfortable margin of 37 points, again over Raheny Shamrocks.