Rhasidat the Record Breaker


Rhasidat Adeleke was again in fantastic form at the final day of the National Juvenile Indoor Championships in Athlone last Saturday week.

After breaking the record for the U16 60m the previous week the 14 year old followed up with some fantastic displays of running in the 200m where she broke the previous record in the heats and again in the final where she smashed the previous record which stood since 2010 with a time of 24.44 which was unbelievably quicker than the qualifying standard for the European Youth Olympics, the U20 European Championships and only 0.01 off the European U23 Championship standard.

On the same day Yan Geraghty ran a blinder in the U16 800m to claim silver with a new personal best time of 2.02.57 and Eoghan Keaney did likewise in the U18 800m with a brilliant finish that brought him through the line with a massive new p.b of 1.57.86. Jack Kelly had a good run in his first National indoors where he finished 4th in his U13 600m heat but despite producing a new p.b. of 1.43.92 his time didn’t see him through to the final.

Since then there was further success in the Leinster Schools Track and Field Championships in Santry last week where a host of Tallaght athletes produced some outstanding performances and secured a number of titles for their schools.

Rhasidat Adeleke was once again to the fore when recording a double in the junior 100m and 200m while Philip Omisore also won the 200m title at the same level

Jennifer Mc Adams won the U16 1 mile title with ease while Yan Geraghty won silver in the boy’s race. In the same age group Katelyn O’ Neill won the long jump and Eireann Hayes won silver in the 200m.

At Inter level Lauryn Mc Dermott won the 200m title with silver going the way of Niamh Gibson who earlier in the week won the 100m title while Linda won the long jump title and Madeline Chan bronze in the same contest.

At Senior level Lati Adeleke won the girls shot putt with the 400m title going the way of Christopher Duffy who also added silver in the 200m while Eoghan Keaney produced two silver medal performances  in both the 800m and steeple chase and Mustafa Nasir won silver in the 1500m ahead of Dean Conway who claimed bronze.

A number of the same athletes also featured on medal winning relay teams for their schools.